How to Build an Empire with a Lemonade Stand

Lemonade StandAs you may remember, I wrote a post a while back about my son wanting to set up a lemonade stand. And how I had told him no. Well, today I said yes.

I’m not sure if the heat was getting to me, or if I was just in the mood for lemonade, but my son came asking after me to help him set up a lemonade stand for him to make some money, and I told him yes.

I went into the kitchen and got to making some fresh lemonade and added some lemon slices in it to make it extra pretty. We made signs for $0.50 lemonade. We got Mr. GameBoy to set a table out in the front yard, along with a chair for BoogerFace to sit in. We got some ice and some cups and headed out side to make the big bucks.

As I had mentioned before in my previous post is that I didn’t want to have a lemonade stand because we lived in the country. The speed limit is 55 mph and the people that do go by are not going by very slowly. My biggest fear was that he was going to be heartbroken from disappointment when no one stopped by.

This time I figured it would be okay. He might be sad for a little while, but at least he wouldn’t be mad at me anymore for being a “mean momma.”

It was hot outside today… very hot. I don’t know how he stood the sun and the heat, but he actually seemed to be enjoying himself sitting up tall in his little chair, getting ready for all of the customers to show up.

I called my mom to make a run by our house to buy a cupful just so he would at least have one customer. She agreed to head over a few minutes later.

It’s not often that I’m wrong. But when I’m wrong, I will fully admit to it.

I was wrong.

Less than five minutes passed by when he got his first customer. The car sped by, but then something miraculous happened. They did a U-turn and headed back!

They were coming back for a fresh glass of lemonade and to put a smile on that little boy’s face. And, so, he made his first dollar from the car with two people in it.

And this kept happening. A few minutes would pass by with no customers, and I would be getting antsy, ready to give up and head back inside, when another car would turn into our driveway to purchase some lemonade.

I didn’t know he had it in him, but BoogerFace stayed out there selling lemonade for over an hour. Let me tell you, that is something. Getting my son to sit still and stay interested in something for that long is not something that happens very often. I think it was the love he has for money that kept him happily behind his table holding the cups and pitcher. He even made a couple of tips.

I’m so proud of that little boy, and I’m glad that I finally said yes.

101 Easy Craft Project Ideas

Leave a Reply

