Glittered Ombre Seashell Ornaments!

Ombre Flittered Seashell OrnamentsOne of the most popular trends now-a-days is the use of ombre blending in the use of crafts, painting, or decor. As beautiful as it can come out, it is certainly easy to understand jumping on the band wagon!

Booger Face has a thing for seashells. Booger Face also loves glitter (although he doesn’t like to admit it). I recently can upon a craft idea that includes all of these things! Which definitely peeked my interest.

Here are a list of instructions for Ombre Glittered Seashell Ornaments, from the Martha Stewart website.

The best thing about crafts like this is that it requires very little prep and very little cost! I hate spending money on things that I want to use in a craft, so I’m always in search of crafts that can be created with materials I have on hand.

Seashells of course are the main ingredient. Check, I brought some of those back from the last trip to the beach.

Glue. Check!

Glitter. Check!

She lists some other things in there, but really that’s self explanatory. No need, Martha!

Some of the seashells that I had brought home already had the hole in them, should I choose to make them hanging and not just beautiful baskets decor. So really, I glossed over the other materials she stated….

She says to use baking cups to mix the glitter, but shoot… muffin cups are more likely to be found in my home!

Take at least two colors and gradually blend different amounts of the colors together to create a smooth blend from one extreme to the other.

Brush on some glue to your shells and start to sprinkling with a spoon. This is where the kid comes in. Wow, do kids love glue and glitter! Since you are using the unsteady hands of a young child, you may want to cover the shell you want a different shade with a piece of paper, gradually moving it down with each shade added.

Honestly, even if it doesn’t turn out “ombre”, instead a hot mess of clumped glitter on a shell, it will still be loads of fun for your child! And if you do choose to turn these into ornaments, why not give them to loved ones as gifts? I know that my mom would love to get one of these bad boys from my son!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

